Phlebotomy Technician Certification

July 4, 2019

In addition to the three phlebotomist certification agencies listed above, you can also receive your phlebotomist license from:

  • The National Center for Competency Testing (NCCT)
  • The American Medical Technologists (AMT)

NCCT License

NCCT offers three ways to earn your license, but if you're just starting out, you'll need to take the phlebotomy exam after graduating from an NCCT-authorized school. Before you can take the test, you'll need:

  • A high school diploma or GED
  • A phlebotomy technician certificate from an approved program
  • Completion of NCCT Phlebotomy Technician Certification Critical Skill Competency form

AMT License

To be eligible for the American Medical Technologists exam, applicants must graduate from a phlebotomy program that includes a minimum of 120 didactic clock hours. The program should also be approved by the U.S. Department of Education.

To find out if you're eligible to take the AMT exam, the first step is to submit an application online and provide transcripts and other requested documentation. If you're interested in obtaining AMT certification, ensure your phlebotomy program allows you to complete a minimum of 50 successful venipunctures and 10 successful skin punctures from human sources.

Phlebotomy License Renewal

Part of being professionally certified means maintaining your credentials.

AMT requires annual renewal; you'll pay a fee and need to comply with their Certification Continuation Program. This means you'll need to complete a qualifying activity, such as continuing education.

certified phlebotomy technician
certified phlebotomy technician
[PDF] Phlebotomy Technician Specialist: Certification Exam
[PDF] Phlebotomy Technician Specialist: Certification Exam ...
Phlebotomy Technician Certification
Phlebotomy Technician Certification
Share this Post